Mitarbeiter Simon Metzler

Simon Metzler

Senior Penetration Tester / Trainer

Simon Metzler, born in 1988, acquired sound knowledge of IT-related topics at the Higher Technical College of Industrial Engineering, specializing in Manufacturing Computer Science, in Dornbirn. He then studied Secure Information Systems, getting both his bachelor’s and master’s degree from the University of Applied Sciences Upper Austria in Hagenberg. Simon did research in the fields of IPv6 security, denial-of-service attacks and mitigation, X.509 public-key infrastructure, anonymity/overlay networks and attacks on cellular radio networks.

During his studies, he worked as a tutor in the subjects Introduction into Programming, Web Technologies and Physical Security. Moreover, he held several presentations on different levels for the students association Hagenberger Kreis.

He started his work at cirosec with an internship in 2011, when he was already involved in several web audits and prepared much training material. Since January 2015, Simon has been permanently employed at cirosec. Ever since, he has carried out several audits and penetration tests of both web applications and web services as well as of highly specific applications. His focus thus is on cryptography, exploit techniques and countermeasures as well as on reverse engineering in general. Moreover, he has conducted several forensic investigations. Simon is also one of the instructors of the cirosec training "Hacking Extreme".

MitarbeiterSimon Metzler

Simon Metzler

Senior Penetration Tester / Trainer

Simon Metzler, geboren 1988, erlangte bereits in der Oberstufe solide IT-Kenntnisse an der HTBLuVA Dornbirn für Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen, Schwerpunkt Betriebsinformatik. Darauf aufbauend erwarb er an der Fachhochschule Oberösterreich im Studiengang Sichere Informationssysteme je einen Bachelor- bzw. Master-of-Science-Titel. Zu den Kernthemen gehörten IPv6-Sicherheit, Denial-of-Service-Angriffe und Gegenmaßnahmen, X.509-PKI, Anonymisierung/Overlay-Netze und praktische Angriffe auf Mobilfunknetze.

Nebenbei fungierte Simon Metzler jahrelang als Tutor in den Fächern Einführung in die Programmierung, Webtechnologien und Mechanische Einbruchssicherheit. Für den Studentenverein Hagenberger Kreis hielt er zahlreiche Fachvorträge auf unterschiedlichsten Levels.

Sein Eintritt in die cirosec GmbH erfolgte 2011 im Zuge eines Praktikums. In dieser Zeit war er bereits an Webaudits beteiligt und erstellte zahlreiche Beratungs- und Schulungsunterlagen. Seit Januar 2015 ist er fest bei cirosec angestellt. Simon Metzler führt Audits und Penetration Tests sowohl bei Webapplikationen und Web Services als auch bei sehr spezifischen Anwendungen durch. Hierfür beschäftigt er sich verstärkt mit den Themen Kryptografie und Anti-Exploit-Mechanismen. Darüber hinaus hat er bereits mehrere forensische Analysen vorgenommen. Außerdem ist er als Trainer in der von cirosec angebotenen Schulung „Hacking Extrem“ tätig.